The user manager allows you to control the users that have access to content. You can have various user groups, each group with different access permissions.
There are two aspects to the User Manager:
- Users: A user is a specific user account with its own username and password that is assigned to an email address. Only the user of the account has access to it. Each user is assigned to a user group.
- User Groups: a user group is effectively a category that a user is assigned to. You can control what content users in the group have access to by editing the user group.
There a few default user groups you will need to know about:
- Public: This User Group gives the user access to all public content on the front-end of the website (this is what a non-logged in user is automatically assigned to)
- Administrator: This User Group gives the user access to the CMS backend
- Registered: This User Group gives the user access to registered user content (this is what a logged in user is automatically assigned to)
Note: Your website might have custom user groups. Consult your User Manual to find out the difference between the groups.